Why?

on

image

I read in “how to win friends and influence people” this extract.

‘Did you ever stop to think that a dog is the only animal that doesn’t have to work for a living? A hen has to lay eggs, a cow has to give milk, and a canary has to sing. But a dog makes his living by giving you nothing but love”.

This touched me more than anything I have ever read.
I don’t have a dog, in fact I am afraid of them yet the above lines made an impression in my mind and it was there in my subconscious since then.

Today as I wait for my sister to receive me, I saw a dog trying to find a place to rest it’s tired legs, maybe sleep. I kept looking at his actions as minutes flew by.
It went left and right, stood quietly too ,assessing whether this way any car will come or not. It’s eyes were tired too. Finally it settled itself on the road. Somehow this intense care and love grew in me for him, I wanted to pick it up, wanted to call it and say “don’t sleep there, the cars won’t let u.”
I could not. My fear for them goes deep down. I could not, but I stood there for long, so that I could save it from the cars if they did wake it up.
But I failed once again. The car drivers thought I am a mad girl.
Again as I stood watching the dog trying to find a nice place as it repeated it’s assessment of the road.
As it stood still and looked here and there, a terrible grief rose in me.
It had no one to sleep next to, it had no home to sleep in, it had no comfortable bed to be in, it had no solace of family. It was alone. I wanted to cry, I was all choked up?
Why was it all alone?
Why do we men forget that animals also have the right to live?
Why is it that, we only treat pets or those that are ours and not everyone around us?
Why is it so easy to not love or stop loving?
Love is the only energy that binds us all humans yet why is love the last thing people want from those who love them?
Why people are seeking love from perishable objects and not from those who have souls?

Why?

Leave a Reply

