Heart Beat

I tread my path from home to you
Your light called me
Calling out my name
I heard them in the flicker of the halo from the cars
In the whispers of the wind passing through the trees
I heard them in the chirping of the birds
And in the symphony of the rain drizzling lightly on me
In the lonely garden, these are the only guide
There I stood with my head held towards the sky
As I looked at you with tears in my eyes
I felt a splash of water on me
And I knew in my heart you have welcomed me
As a smile hovered on my lips, I felt your arms embrace
Silently I stood in them feeling the warmth in the night, dark and cold
We held each other for few moments and then you were gone
Happily I turned around to return home where once we lived
But once again you held me back
this time I heard you in the giggles of the children playing near by
You challenged the inner child within me, coaxing me to be one like old times
I threw caution in air as I stepped on the dew-ey grass near you
A chill ran through my spine as I felt the ice beneath the legs of mine
But a laughter erupted from inside me as I felt all together at peace
A juvenile feeling came within me, to walk on the periphery
I tip toed, I lost balance, I tried walking in one line
I giggled and laughed at my clumsiness as I finally reached where you stood
Your arms outstretched waiting to embrace the warmth that was me
'It's time for me to go', I said
You smiled and I felt you kiss my forehead
Letting me know that I am loved by you everyday and forever more
My eyes welled up once again as I knelt down to kiss your tomb stone and bid you a good bye
With a promise I make everyday lingering in my heart and lips to rejoin you one day
A gush of wind blew my hair messing it up
'I know you like it that way', I whispered
And then all went still like a calm sea
Silence was all that was around me
And then once again I heard you, this time as my own heart beat.

3 thoughts on “Heart Beat

Leave a Reply

